Newfoundland and Labrador

Polar Bear management planning in Newfoundland and Labrador is a joint effort between the Department of Fisheries and Land Resources  (Wildlife Division), Nunatsiavut Government, the Torngat Wildlife and Plants Co-Management Board, the Torngat Wildlife, Plants and Fisheries Secretariat and Parks Canada Agency.

Under the Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement, the Torngat Wildlife and Plants Co-Management Board is empowered to establish, modify, or eliminate total allowable harvest (TAH) of non-migratory wildlife in the Labrador Inuit Settlement Area (LISA), including polar bear, and has the power to recommend designate protected areas and species at risk within the LISA. The recommendations of the Board are communicated directly to the Newfoundland and Labrador Minister of Fisheries and Land Resources (minister responsible for the Wild Life Act). The TWPCMB consists of representatives of the Nunatsiavut Government, the Provincial Government, and the Canadian Government.

Within the Torngat Mountains National Park, management of Polar Bears is coordinated through the Cooperative Management Board (CMB) as part of the Labrador Inuit Park Impact and Benefits Agreement. The CMB is an advisory board to the federal Minister responsible for national parks and has representatives appointed by the Nunatsiavut Government, Makivik Corporation, and Parks Canada Agency. The CMB may provide advice to the Torngat Wildlife and Plants Co-Management Board as appropriate and these two boards cooperate with respect to the management of Polar Bears and Polar Bear habitat.

Learn about legislation that helps manage and conserve polar bears in Newfoundland and Labrador.